Please visit jeremiahjones.com

Pour Rien


“I tried throwing myself off a cliff, collapsing in the street in the midst of mortals, that led nowhere, I gave up” Samuel Beckett Texts for nothing p 87

I was considering images to embody these lines from Texts for Nothing “I tried throwing me off a cliff, collapsing in the street in the midst of mortals, that led nowhere, I gave up.  Take the road again that cast me up here, then retrace it, or follow it on, wise advice.  That’s so that I’ll never stir again, dribble on here till time is done, murmuring every ten centuries, It’s not me, its not true, it’s not me, I’m far.”

I chose to create the image of a person laying totally bare, not visibly suffering or in pain.  Instead laying as if it was always that way.  It never stops being that way.  The passing of time is irrelevant to the situation.  The image never stops.

To enact collapse visually, is an antidote to the cultural premise that there is a good way and a bad way.  To see a person alive in this way, going on living says to me that we think that life is worth it.  He is placing himself in the public eye, a real person in a video, a man exposed in the road, thrown in the street “amongst mortals” us viewers, alive to see it.

Leave a Reply

