documented works by jeremiah

Sewing Table

Sewing Table
2010
Video Installation
Sewing Table, is an assemblage sculpture consisting of a stripped Liquid Chrystal Display Panel and electronics, a table, a chair, embroidery and quilted fabric and a pile of not-yet-quilted fabric. I created the video by photographing a more extreme conservative rally outside the proposed Muslim Community Center near the World Trade Center Site. The interviews and discussions I had while I was there were examples of how reasoning can justify any number of racist oppressive acts. I left feeling that I had a lot of work to do. I conceptualized Sewing Table as an abstracted presentation of the patriotism of the tea party, merged with images I sourced from online video of out takes from a 1950s educational film about families.

One response

  1. Pingback: Brooklyn Museum: Community: bloggers@brooklynmuseum » Inside the Staff Show

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.